How The Dutch Involve from the Beginning of Free West Papua Movement - Free West Papua Campaign

Based on Indonesian historical record, the integration of Papua to the Republic of Indonesia was an effort to liberate it from Dutch colonization. However, for some Papuan, Indonesia was merely seizing their independence already granted by the Dutch. Papuan who support the notion of independence, also covered in their media of propaganda.

The history already recorded how the Dutch are actively involved in efforts to divide Papua and Indonesia

The Timeline:

  • July 10th-17th, 1945 : BPUPKI meeting affirmed that the territory of Republic of Indonesia included all Dutch colonial territories for Sabang to Merauke
  • November 2nd, 1949 : The Round Table Conference (KMB) agreement was signed. West Papua should be handed to Indonesia as late as 1950.
  • December 27th, 1949 : Acknowledgment and transfer of authority over Dutch colonial territories, excluding West Papua to Indonesia
  • December 1st, 1957 : Indonesian government announces a strike against all Dutch companies for 24 hours
  • December 2nd, 1957 : Workers started to strike factories fully or even partially owned by the Dutch
  • December 27th, 1958 : President Soekarno issued Law no. 86 Year 1958 regarding the nationalization of all Dutch companies in Indonesia
  • March 3rd-9th, 1960 : The Netherlands – Australia Conference was held in Hollandia (Jayapura)
  • April 5th, 1960 : Queen Juliana founded Niuw Guinea Raad (West Papua Parliament) whereas created national anthem and country symbol for West Papuan
  • February 1961 : The Dutch chose 12 people who would represent the regions deemed unready to hold election properly
  • April 5th, 1961: The New Guinean Council was inaugurated
  • September 1961: a number of Indonesian infiltrators were captured by the Dutch army and Papuan People
  • September 26th-27th, 1961: Dutch Minister of Foreign Affairs presented a proposal to the UN general assembly a]in regards to the future of West New Guinea.
  • December 1st, 1961 : The Netherland infringed the KMB agreement, they also prepared measures to separate Papua from Indonesia
  • December 19th, 1961 : The Dutch action of forming the country of Papua enraged Indonesia. Meanwhile, President Soekarno announced the People’s Triple Command (Trikora)
  • January 1962 : Battle of Arafura Sea, The Dutch attacked Indonesian Navy and resulting the death of Yos Sudarso
  • March 20th, 1962 : The discussion between the Netherlands and Indonesia began in Middleburg, Virginia, without any prerequisite
  • March 24th, 1962 : Indonesia announced that it withdrew from the negotiation
  • April 2nd, 1962 : The US told the Netherlands about “Bunker Plan”. The Dutch denounced the recommendation, while Indonesia accepted it.
  • April 13th, 1962 : Dutch cabinet meeting discussing about the Bunker Plan
  • April 14th, 1962 : The Dutch Labor Party held a demonstration to protested the departure of Dutch combat troops to West New Guinea
  • May 25th, 1962 : The UN openly announced the details of Bunker Plan
  • May 26th, 1962 : The Netherlands agreed to restart the negotiation based on the Bunker Plan
  • July 12th, 1962 : The negotiation between Indonesia and the Netherlands resumed
  • July 28th, 1962 : Indonesian Minister of Foreign Affairs threatened to withdraw from the negotiation
  • August 14th, 1962 : The negotiation was stopped because Indonesia sent hundreds of troops to West New Guinea
  • August 15th, 1962 : Indonesia signed the New York Agreement
  • August 17th, 1962 : Soekarno said that the victory over West New Guinea was a result of Guided Democracy
  • August 18th, 1962 : Ceasefire in West New Guinea was started in order to transfer the authority over West New Guinea to Indonesia
  • August 28th, 1962 : United Nation Military Observer Group was formed in order to ensure that ceasefire was really conducted in West New Guinea
  • August 30th, 1962 : Pakistan agreed to appoint 1000 of its army as United Nation Peacekeeping Forces
  • September 19th, 1962 : Papuan National Congress led by Herman Wajoi and Nicholas Tanggahma
  • September 21st, 1962 : The UN General Assembly debated on the NYA
  • October 1st, 1962 : The Netherlands surrendered his authority over West Papua to a UN agency specifically formed to deal with the Papuan dispute (UNTEA)
  • November 15th. 1962 : Indonesian army seized a route near Sorong
  • November 16th 1962 : Indonesian army enclosed the Sentani airport
  • November 22nd, 1962 : The last of Dutch troops left West New Guinea
  • May 1st, 1963 : UNTEA handed over the governing of West Papua to Indonesia.
  • May 4th, 1963 : Soekarno set foot on the land of Papua and give a passionate speech to Papuans in Kota Baru.
  • September 5th, 1963 : West Papua was declared a “quarantined area”. Indonesian government disbanded the Papuan Council and prohibited the Papuan flag and national anthem.
  • May 1965 : Soekarno prohibited all forms of self-determination in West Irian
  • January 3rd, 1967 : Lodewijk Mandatjan led 14.000 Arfak people in entering a forest, while bringing approximately 1000 weapons
  • December 10th, 1969 : a secret briefing material by Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) in regards to the British Empire’s mission in the UN
  • 1969 :The PEPERA Deliberation Council (DPM, or Dewan Musyawarah PEPERA) of 1,026 members became representatives of the Papuan population, which at the time were 815,904 residents. Papua finally returned to the Republic of Indonesia.

Leave a comment